Junior’s attack

November 22, 2007

Late last night Junior suddenly went nuts & attacked Zen.  Instinctively I doved in to separate them by picking Junior up.  He turned & sank all his teeth into my arm.  If you had never been bitten by cat, let me tell, it is hell f*&#king painful!!!!!

I can’t let go of him because he’d go straight for Zen’s blood again.  I had to hold on him & find a place to isolate him.  Panicking, in pain , the rest of Chaos screaming, I headed for the nearest bathroom, threw him in & closed the door.  I looked down, my arm was bloody & there was a trail of blood from the war room to the bathroom.

I didn’t know what to do first. Zen was still hissing, Alex & Ruby were really frightened & Carma was just screaming (don’t know why) it was almost midnight & I’m bleeding.  I decided to take care of myself first.  But I don’t know the first thing about first aid (yes, I am THAT hopeless).  I have no bandages or antiseptic creams.  I had rinse my arm under the tap, washed with dettol soap.  But bleeding was relentless.  That boy punctured me good.  I ended using a hand towel, wrapped it round my arm & went to bed.  But the pain made sleep almost impossible.

This morning I checked my arm, the bleeding has stopped but punctures are still spotting blood.  And my arm is still in pain.  I counted, there are 8 punctures & a few scratches on my arm.  But Junior & Zen, they calm & back to their usual routine like nothing had happened last night.

I went through mixed emotions last night.  I was furious with Junior – for the fight & the bite.  But that was only split second.  I realised that no matter how well I train Junior to become, he is still a cat & he will continue to act on his instinct.  And it is pointless to be angry with him precisely of this.

And these there was a sense of helplessness.  I don’t even know how to take care of myself, I wish there was someone else in the flat last night to help me with the cats.  Did I try to take on too much on my own?  I went to bed feeling defeated on top of the pain.

But this morning, when I fed them, they looked happy.  They’ve forgotten the fight, Junior & Zen were eating side by side.  Thankfully holding a grudge is not forte 🙂 … And it looks like I can learn a thing or two from these cats.

5 Responses to “Junior’s attack”

  1. veganmeow said

    Phew…hope you have seen a doctor and got a tetanus injection! It sounds quite bad….

  2. ChaosCat said

    Not yet. But the arm HURTS!!!! I figured if I ain’t got a fever or the arm hasnt got pus, I shld be safe … then again, what do I know?!?!?

    😀

  3. Aunty S said

    Huh! Still want to wait until pus and fever????

    See a doctor ASAP, get the tetanus shot whcih will last for 10 years, then ask for antibiotics eg cephalexin to combat the swellings

  4. Aunty S said

    Sayang sayang, Alex, Ruby and Carma….eh Beauty leh?

  5. ChaosCat said

    Aiyah Aunty S I’m quite complacent about myself 🙂

    I seriously I doubt I need a shot since Jr is a home cat & he has been vaccinated. That’s why I decided to adopt a wait & see attitude. Besides I always to try to let the body self-heals & if it doesn’t work then I’ll take the medication way.

    Beauty was sitting on top on the wardrobe watching the whole show & Wawa was sleeping in the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

